Strawberry Scones

As written in my previous post,  I had made these scones for my friends bridal shower, so I thought I would share the recipe. I haven’t tried substituting other fruit but I’m sure it would be fine to do so. These are my all time favorite scones because they’re fluffy (not hard) and have a really good flavor. Plus, they’re not hard to make. They’re good to make for breakfast every now and again. Don’t forget the tea 🙂

Strawberry Scones: From Betty Crocker

Ingredients:

2 Cups all purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup butter

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup whipping cream

1/4 cup buttermilk

1 cup strawberries-hulled and sliced

(Note: rinse AND dry your strawberries to avoid having dough that is too wet)

optional: granulated sugar for topping

Glaze:

1 egg, beaten

1 tablespoon whopping cream

(whisk egg and cream together)

Directions:

1. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl.

 2. Cut in butter with a pastry cutter until course crumbs form.

3. Form a well in the center; set aside.

4. Whisk egg, vanilla, cream, and buttermilk together.

5. Stir into dry mixture until moistened.

6. Fold in strawberries.

7. Gently knead dough on a lightly floured surface until smooth, about 10 seconds (I knead the dough on floured parchment paper)

8. Pat into a 7 inch circle about 1 inch thick

9. Slice into 8 wedges (I flour my knife to avoid dough sticking to it). Arrange on parchment paper-lined baking sheet

10. Brush with glaze and sprinkle with additional sugar.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes or until golden and cool on wire rack.

Leave a Reply

