Spritz Cookies (AKA the best cookies ever!)

Let me first start this post by quoting myself: “Almond is my favorite extract.” That will clue you in to the reason I love this cookie so much. The first time I had these cookies was when my mother-in-law made them back when Ryan and I first started dating (circa 2004).  I’ve been in love with them ever since! I have tweaked the recipe by adding more almond extract than her recipe called for so you can either be generous or back off of that ingredient based on what your taste preferences are. Enough talky…time to eat cookies

DSC_0565

 

Spritz Cookies

1 1/2 cups real butter (3 sticks)

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 Tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 teaspoons almond extract (this is where you can tweak it based on your taste-her original recipe called for 1/2 tsp)

4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

Directions

1. Thoroughly cream the butter and sugar.

2. Add the egg, milk, vanilla and almond extracts. Beat well.

3. Mix the flour and baking powder together. Add the flour to the wet mixture and mix until smooth

Do not chill. When shaping the dough you can use a cookie press to make pretty cookies. I usually use a cookie dough scoop or just roll the dough into small balls and then flatten the balls out with my fingers or with a fork. The cookies don’t flatten out in the oven so they will keep whatever shape you lay them on the cookie sheet as.

Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes. They will look and feel undercooked but will get more firm as they cool.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

