Paris from Rooftops- Day 4

Our last and final day in Paris went out with a bang.

From sun up to sun down we hit all the major areas of the city we had yet to see, and my main goal was to capture some good cityscape pictures from a birds eye view.  I don’t know what it is about Paris, but I felt like I had to see the city from above to make my trip seem complete. So up on the rooftops we went and, as I assumed, the views did not disappoint.

We started out the day in the Montmarte district at

Sacré Coeur 

DSC_0596DSC_0593

It’s a beautiful Roman Catholic church sitting on a hill, but what drew me to it was the viewing area from the dome.  I suggest making the climb to the top but bring water and take your time. 300 winding steps up can get kind of dizzying if you don’t stop every now and again. Note: To find the steps to the dome keep left at the top of the stairs. I wasn’t exactly “in-shape” for the climb, but you’ll need a good set of knees to climb with.

DSC_0583

The views at the top make it totally worth it. You can see almost everything from up there.

DSC_0578 DSC_0574 DSC_0570 DSC_0563 DSC_0541 DSC_0526 DSC_0525 DSC_0514 DSC_0519We headed back down after I got my fill of taking pictures (like that could ever happen), and looked around in the basilica but weren’t allowed to take any pictures as there was some sort of service going on at the time.

I came across a woman selling hand-made jewelry on the stairs and stopped to see what she had to offer. She had really beautiful rings that she was molding out of bronze and silver with colored stones attached and I snatched one up.

DSC_0589

DSC_0482

We didn’t get to spend as much time in the Montmarte district as I would have liked, but we walked the streets a little bit popping in and out of shops, and I got to finally taste my first ever Macaron. I only bought one for each of us because I didn’t know if we’d like them or not.

DSC_0628 DSC_0635

Consensus: Yummy! 🙂

DSC_0642 DSC_0626From here we hopped on the metro and went to the Palais GarnierParis’ opera house

DSC_0655This opera house, among many other things, is the setting for Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical The Phantom of the Opera and one of my personal favorites. We chose to purchase the individual tickets and not take part in a tour. This place is simply amazing and another must see if you are a phantom enthusiast like myself.

DSC_0676 DSC_0682 DSC_0686 DSC_0693 DSC_0694
DSC_0700

DSC_0755DSC_0735DSC_0743

DSC_0659 Leaving there we headed to Galeries Lafayette, a huge mall several stories high right around the corner from the Palais Garnier.

I wasn’t really interested in the shopping, I was on the prowl for another-you guessed it- rooftop view.  First though, we had to grab something to eat and seeing as they had a cafeteria with a smorgasbord  of beautiful food options, this was the place we chose to eat.  I would have taken more pictures of all the food because the displays were so elaborate and unlike any normal buffets I had ever seen, but I had been sternly rebuked with a “NO PICTURES” wave, so I figured I better not push it. DSC_0791The rooftop awaited, so we took the escalators on up once we were finished eating. Note: It’s free to get up there!

Check it out!

DSC_0826

DSC_0799 DSC_0807 DSC_0849 DSC_0870We spent a good long while up there enjoying the cool weather and waited for our opportunity to grab a bench to sit on. I sat and journaled a while and Ryan took a little snooze.

DSC_0841

Although the Louis Vuitton, Chanel, and Dior were a bit out of our budget, we didn’t leave this exquisite shopping center empty handed.

I bought an original watercolor that caught my eye.DSC_0835

and Ryan bought Gelato. Is that really surprising?

DSC_0834Here was the view of Sacré Couer DSC_0844

By the time we were finished here, it was later in the afternoon, and we needed to head over to our next rooftop spot for sunset.

Montparnasse Tower

It is Paris’ only skyscraper and you take the elevator to the 56th floor for amazing 360 degree views of Paris. It’s the most modern place we went to in Paris.  This place is so cool, cheaper than The Eiffel Tower’s 3rd floor viewing deck, and in my opinion, gives you much better views of the city PLUS you get to see the Eiffel Tower within your view. Have I convinced you yet?

Note: Go before sunset, and stay until the Eiffel Tower lights up and sparkles in the darkened sky. You won’t regret it and there’s no limit to your time up there. Pack a baguette, some wine and snacks, and have a little picnic on the viewing deck while watching the sun set over one of the most amazing cityscapes I have yet to see in my lifetime.

It was cold, windy, and rainy, but that in no way took away from this amazing view and what a perfect way to finish out the day of rooftop exploring.

DSC_0880 DSC_0881 DSC_0890 We didn’t get a chance to visit the graveyards but I was able to get a good peek from up there. DSC_0910 DSC_0945 Notre DameDSC_0947 DSC_0959 Cotton candy skiesDSC_0975 DSC_0979 DSC_0983 DSC_0990 DSC_1002 DSC_1010

The next day we said ‘au revoir’ to Paris as London was calling…

2 thoughts on “Paris from Rooftops- Day 4

Leave a Reply

