Laundry Room Updates

It’s about time for a home update on this little blog of mine. The travel posts will continue but first I have a few things to share.

Our laundry room has been bothering me for the entire time we’ve been in this house, which is now about three years. I could never really find a solution to organize the chaos.  That was partly because everything I used, I had on hand, and never went out to buy anything.

The other day my mom and I were at Ikea, and I found some solutions that I thought would be perfect to help clean up the look of the laundry room so I purchased them.

I got the Algot white basket storage system for beside the washer and dryer and I got the Bissa storage system for our shoes. I added wheels to the wire basket tower so that I could easily move it to vacuum out dog hair behind it.

We got rid of the nasty dog cage that used to be beside the washer and dryer because, to be honest, our dog doesn’t need it anymore. He doesn’t chew things when we leave and we didn’t want to have to cage him up when we’re gone for long periods of time. Plus he hated that thing.

Ok so here are some pictures of the mess before. That is a coffee table that the baskets are sitting on…

DSC_0705 DSC_0706 The shoe clutter has been driving me crazy!! DSC_0707Here are the much improved after pictures.

I keep all the laundry type stuff like dryer sheets and liquid pods in the top drawer and the dirty dish cloths in the second drawer. In the third drawer I put our dogs towels and swiffer refills, and the bottom drawer is for recycling so we don’t have to walk out to the recycling bin all the time. I like the storage solution for now, it’s a little wobbly because I have it on wheels, but it doesn’t come close to falling over. As far as the shelves behind the washer go, I don’t yet know what to do about that. I’m thinking about custom building some closed off cabinets and just tearing those out. They go behind the washer/dryer anyways, so if they were gone, we could push them back about 8 inches or so.

DSC_0714 DSC_0716 DSC_0715 DSC_0719These doors open up and can fit about 12 pairs of shoes, which is plenty for shoe storage at the back door.  This looks 10x better than that horrible shoe rack and somehow make this really small room seem like there’s a little more space.

IMG_2942 IMG_2946

This room now functions so much better and won’t have shoes lying all around all the time, which is what I’m most excited about.

Leave a Reply

