DIY Outdoor Farmhouse Table

Back in May, Ryan built a Farmhouse table for our newly laid concrete paver patio from plans I had found here.

When I found the plans, I was excited because the table looked very similar to my dream table from Anthropologie that costs about $2,000.

The plans Ana White provided stated the total material costs would be about $70, and that is exactly what it cost plus the cost of stain and finish that I purchased later.

DSC_1033 DSC_1032 DSC_1031

I absolutely love it. I decided to go with a darker stain and used min-wax (Dark Walnut) plus a clear coat of deck finishing to help it withstand the rain and outdoor elements. I only needed a quart of each and had left over.

DSC_0045 DSC_0044

Looking back, I would have chosen a deck stain and finish all in one just to save time. I want to clarify that Ryan is not an experienced carpenter and has only ever dabbled in wood-working, so this is a very doable project for beginners.

DSC_0046 DSC_0051 DSC_0052

Tip:  When purchasing the planks for the top of the table, pay close attention because many boards will be bent/warped. Since this was an outdoor table, it wasn’t  that important for us to have perfectly straight planks.

I thought about having him build some benches to go with the table but then decided since I wanted people to be comfortable if they’re sitting at the table for a while, I should go with individual chairs preferably having arm rests.

I searched various places like Lowes, Home Depot, Target, Tuesday Morning, Big Lots, Sams, Walmart, Goodwill, and many garage sales. FYI: chairs are expensive. After seeing the prices of all the outdoor chairs, I thought about just buying aluminum folding chairs and trying to paint them. So that was going to be my last resort if I didn’t find any affordable and attractive chairs.

My favorite ones were at Target AND on sale, but still cost about $45 each and I needed at least 6 chairs. Look at that cute color! IMG_3201In the end I went with chairs from Tuesday morning that were the most affordable while also being comfortable. Funny enough, almost the exact same chair (even down the the color) was also at Lowes for double the price.

DSC_0063What do you think? Has anyone else built anything for their outdoor spaces? I have a few more things I’d like to do.

One thought on “DIY Outdoor Farmhouse Table

  1. Pingback: DIY Summer Patio Project | carterscupatea

Leave a Reply

