Christmas House Tour-2014

We are all decorated up in here!  This year a few things changed, like they tend to do every year as my tastes change and evolve. First, we got a much taller tree, a 9-footer! Also, I picked up a few new decorations that I really love.  I love the feeling of the house all decorated and the tree lit, preferably with a fire going, although this year it’s been mostly too warm for that.  Today, I made the point to do nothing but curl up on the couch in my pajamas and watch Christmas movies all day long.  The rainy weather made this the perfect day to do it.  I snapped a few pictures of the house so I could feel slightly productive today.

DSC_0773

I always love bringing out this Pottery Barn Pillow that Ryan bought me for my birthday a few years ago. It was pricey but is one of my favorite Christmas decorations and it makes me want to take a joy ride in that wood paneled car.

DSC_0775

DSC_0712

Last year, all the pillar candles and tapered candles were white, but this year I went to World Market and bought these white and silver candles and the silver glitter pillar candles when they had a big sale after thanksgiving.  I wanted more sparkle on the mantle this year.  Ideally, I’d have a bigger mirror with a thick gold frame, but I love this mirror and it will do just fine this year.

DSC_0713DSC_0744

DSC_0710

We added a few new ornaments to our tree this year from our road trip to various national parks (and Las Vegas) this last summer.  We have tried to get ornaments from everywhere we travel so it’s fun getting them out every year and reminiscing on our past trips.

I found some battery operated “glimmer strings” at Pier 1 to add to the nativity scene. I think I prefer the manger scene with a little glowing light.

DSC_0721DSC_0668DSC_0669DSC_0726DSC_0727DSC_0728DSC_0722DSC_0705

These blue velvet pillows are from World Market and were only $10 a piece so I got two to add to our other holiday pillows. I wanted to bring in more of that blue this year. DSC_0707DSC_0706DSC_0702DSC_0701DSC_0699DSC_0698DSC_0697DSC_0695

This gold tray from World Market is new to our home this year, and I really like it on our kitchen table.

DSC_0692DSC_0690

DSC_0685F

I have been searching for a snow globe that I love for years, and finally found one at Home Goods, you can pretty much find anything there. Look at the cute little family of deer!  I’m glad I held out for this one.

DSC_0684DSC_0679DSC_0678DSC_0677

DSC_0763DSC_0757DSC_0764

I wanted to have a “hot chocolate station”, so I picked up these cute jars and this mug rack from World Market. The jars seal really well so the marshmallows and cocoa mix doesn’t get dried out, and I really like the colorful ceramic tops. The mug rack makes me happy because I can display some of our prettier mugs.
DSC_0761 DSC_0760

DSC_0759

So there it is, our Christmas house tour. Thanks for stopping by.  Here are some posts from previous years  2012   2013

DSC_0771

Leave a Reply

