A Day at Magnolia Market

Any fans of HGTV’s Fixer Upper out there? If you like shows about home renovations, or are even interested in home design and decor, this is the show for you and hopefully you have already seen some episodes. If not, get on it!  Chip and Joanna Gaines are the faces and hearts behind the extremely popular show Fixer Upper and live in Waco, Texas where their new-ish Magnolia Market has just opened up. Joanna had another retail space before, so all that was moved here. This is a place they have designed and renovated to sell their home decor items. The Silos, as they refer to the property, houses their store, a garden, a play area and food truck yard, as well as a soon to be Bakery. There were even goats, so there’s a  little something for everybody. They really are marketing geniuses.

DSC_0595

I have been wanting to check out what all the fuss was about because several of my friends have visited and loved it, and I have been hearing so much about it through the show. I asked Ryan if he would make the trip with me since I wanted some help with the baby if I went, and he lovingly obliged. My mom came with also, which was fun, and we left mid- morning from North Dallas since it takes about 2.5 hours for us to get there from where we live.

I love road trips and just getting away, even if it’s for a day and we’re not traveling very far. This was Nora’s first time traveling on the road that long and she slept like a champ the whole time, so now I feel better about future trips we might want to take. There is literally nothing in between south Dallas and Waco so there wasn’t much to look at, but it still felt good to get out on the open road.

Magnolia Market was super crowded and kind of overwhelming at times when I was trying to see the decor past all the people and navigate around with a baby in a stroller, which i’m still getting accustomed to.  I had to take some pictures in front of the market of our little family with our new addition, something we have done very little.

DSC_0580DSC_0586DSC_0587DSC_0591Nora wasn’t impressed and it was surprisingly bright for how cloudy it was.

The market has a lot of nicely staged areas that totally match Joanna’s style. Many of the decor is stuff i’ve seen in the shows, which is fun if you want to re-create some of the looks from her staged houses. I have to say though, the prices are a bit much for what is offered.

DSC_0596DSC_0597

DSC_0602

I will say that I thought there was going to be furnishings here, so that was a little disappointing, but I didn’t really do my research to find out what her market was all about. I know she has a furniture line, so would love to see that someday. The decorative items were not as unique as I expected either, just based on what i’ve seen from the show. There was a lot of mass produced stuff made in China, and I felt like quite a bit of the stuff I have seen or could find in Dallas. That doesn’t mean that the things weren’t pretty, I just wasn’t as attracted to the thought of buying the items that everyone else was walking away with. But everyone wants to to re-create the decor they see in the show, so I understand why she makes and sells what she does.

If I had had the budget for it, I would have gotten some clear glass vessels and artificial floral stems to add to my space, since  I have none of that currently. Here are some examples from her website. She has a nice selection of higher quality artificial stems than I sometimes can find at places like Hobby Lobby and the like.

Magnolia_Market_1418_1024x1024.JPG

One of the things I always love when she reveals her staged fixed up homes is her use of greenery and floral in glass containers. It makes the spaces seem so warm and inviting.

Also, one thing I currently have on my wish list in this mailbox for our front door. Our current one looks a bit pathetic.

Product_Magnolia_16_of_28_1024x1024.jpg

I didn’t take that many pictures inside the market because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who would like to go, but you can find a lot of what is there through their online store, which is nice for those who don’t live locally. We walked around and parused for a long while before we headed over to the food truck area for some lunch, which was my favorite part of the day. DSC_0606There were some fun food truck options, so we each picked something different and sat down to enjoy a nice lunch at their lovely picnic area. If you are traveling there with kiddos, there’s lots of room for them to run around on an astro-turfed lawn, and plenty of games to play with. We lucked out because it was a cloudy day having just rained, which kept things cool. DSC_0605DSC_0607DSC_0608 There is plenty of seating to sit down and eat with a group of people if you wanted. Nora sure enjoyed herself after her meal.DSC_0611After this, we sat in some of the lounge seats they had on the lawn and kind of fell into a sleepy stupor.  It was nice to be able to enjoy the nice weather and relax before heading back to Dallas.

There was one other store we stopped in on the way back to the car titled The Findery.  To be honest, I enjoyed this store more than Magnolia. I know, I know, some of you may take offense to this, but their prices were way more reasonable and they had more of a selection of unique goods, and even had some of the exact. same. things. as Magnolia Market. I’m mad I didn’t take any pictures, but suffice it to say, if you make the trip to Magnolia market, you NEED to go to this store within walking distance just down the block.  Nora hung out with her Dad outside because he wasn’t about to go in another decor shop. She didn’t seem to mind too much.

DSC_0615

Leave a Reply

